Reckless Driving

Keeping drivers safe on the roadway is one of the main responsibilities of police officers all throughout California. The law of reckless driving exists to protect drivers from negligent or irresponsible behavior by others on the road. However, reckless driving is a subjective charge that can vary from one officer to another. If you are being charged with reckless driving and you feel that you have been charged wrongly in this case, give us a call today to start working on your defense. Somera Law Group has worked on many reckless driving cases and will be happy to go to work in your name.

There are a variety of reasons that you could be charged with reckless driving in the state of California. Among them includes -

  • Excessive speeding
  • Driving while intoxicated
  • Tailgating another vehicle
  • Racing
  • Driving too fast for the conditions
  • Failure to yield

Among those possible offenses are some areas that are open to debate. What one officer might consider too fast for the conditions, another officer might be comfortable with. For that reason, you need an experienced attorney to work with you and present a defense that is in your best interest.

Reckless driving is typically a misdemeanor that can be punished with anywhere between 5 and 90 days in jail and a fine of between $500 and $5,000. You could also face a suspension of your driver’s license and other punishments.

Call our offices today for a free consultation into your reckless driving case. We hope to have the opportunity to work with you soon in this matter.